Knights of Columbus

Membership in the Knights of Columbus is open to practicing Catholic men in union with the Holy See, who are at least 18 years old. A practicing Catholic is one who lives the Commandments of God and the precepts of the Church. 

Priests and religious brothers having duly made application for membership and participated in the ceremonials become honorary life members of the Order and are exempt from payment of dues.

Candidates join local units, called "councils," most of which are based in one Catholic parish, or in the community at large. The candidate takes part in initiation degrees that explain the Knights of Columbus´ four principles: Charity, Unity, Fraternity and Patriotism.

A candidate is considered a "Knight" after taking his First Degree, but he is encouraged to advance through the Second and Third Degrees and on to the Fourth Degree, whose members promote the virtue of patriotism by serving in honor guards, color corps and promoting respect for country and the flag.

Knights of Columbus have a proud heritage. The qualified Catholic man can share in this heritage and build for an even greater future by affiliating himself with this forceful, effective fraternal organization.

To learn more about the Knights of Columbus organization,
visit the official website here.






The Knights of Columbus
Bernardo Council #1350
of Shelton, CT
serves both
St. Joseph and
St. Margaret Mary

Meetings take place at
St. Margaret Mary
church hall at 7 PM
on the fourth Thursday
of every month.

To inquire about membership,
please send an email to:

To learn more about your local Knights of Columbus council, 
visit here.


Online Giving

Online Giving

Secure and Convenient Donate now!